Suivez nous sur

Cartes de baseball

Conseils et analyse du portefeuille des investisseurs de cartes de sport (mis à jour en 2021)

En cliquant sur ce bouton,

on

Mais je ne peux pas me permettre un billet Brady Championship Rookie dans un portefeuille de 2500 Sports Card ?

Garçon, le investissement de carte de sport marché est en baisse, je ne veux pas de cartes spéculatives ou prospects dans mon portefeuille !

Certes, il n'y a pas beaucoup de Brady Championship Rookie Ticket à avoir dans BGS ou PSA, sans parler d'en trouver un dans BGS 2.5 – vous vous demandez peut-être – qu'est-ce qui donne ?  

Conseils et analyse du portefeuille des investisseurs de cartes de sport (mis à jour en 2021)

Conseils de portefeuille pour les investisseurs de cartes de sport

Franchement, le monde de l'investissement et des Sports Cards offrent de nouvelles façons d'acheter des actifs. L'investissement a pris un tournant, est devenu plus démocratique et les investisseurs ont certainement plus de choix dans ce qu'ils possèdent. Vous pouvez posséder des terres agricoles, des technologies vertes, une start-up technologique, du vin, du whisky et bien sûr des cartes de sport.

Vous pouvez posséder des cartes directement, via la propriété fractionnée, ou même conserver une participation (conservez 60% et vendez le reste via le modèle fractionné, si vous avez la chance de posséder une carte à 6 ou 7 chiffres)

Et tandis que le marché a certainement commencé à baisser, les cartes de Acuna Jr, Guerrier, Ohtani, et bien d'autres virent à la hausse, malgré un marché faible. Choisir le bon prospect ou les bonnes cartes spéculatives peut être gratifiant, même dans des conditions de marché défavorables.

Et à un moment donné, le marché trouvera du soutien !

Par conséquent, la prise en compte de la propriété fractionnée et de toutes nos options peut fournir un portefeuille plus complet.

Et qui ne voudrait pas posséder des actions dans un 1986 Fleer Michael Jordan in PSA 10!

Vous avez donc 2500 $ pour démarrer un portefeuille (ou 1/5e ou 5 fois, peu importe), vous avez défini des allocations cibles et des objectifs dans les catégories suivantes. Dans cet exemple, le premier chiffre est notre exemple de portefeuille et le second est la plage cible pour cette catégorie particulière.

Légendes – 40 % - plage cible (30 - 70 %) 

Au-delà HOFers, ce sont l'élite de l'élite, un statut emblématique à la fois sur et en dehors du terrain ou du terrain de jeu, et longtemps après la fin de leur carrière de joueur

Des exemples de légendes incluent Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Gordie Howe, Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Dr J, Bill Russell, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Lou Gehrig, Babe Ruth, Mickey Mantle, Jacke Robinson, Honus Wagner, Roberto Clemente, Derek Jeter, Jim Brown, Joe Montana et Walter Payton.

Futur HOFer – Plage cible de 35% (20-50%) 

Sûr firelock pour être dans le HOF. Cette liste comprend James, Rodgers, Brady, Kershaw, Ovechkin, Crosby. Si vous devez vous demander si un joueur est un HOFer (après 10 ans dans la ligue), alors il n'a pas besoin d'être dans cette catégorie ou dans votre portefeuille. Il faudra probablement amener cette catégorie à un autre niveau et des biens incorporels considérables, une popularité et la façon dont cela sera vénéré une fois à la retraite.

Joueurs de l'ère active – 15 % - plage cible (10 - 35 %) 

Les joueurs qui sont dans le top 20 dans leurs ligues respectives de manière cohérente et idéalement dans le top 5 ou 10, mais qui manquent de jalons, de championnats ou même de titularisation. Les joueurs qui entrent dans cette catégorie sont Carey Price, Patrick Mahomes, Damian Lilliard, Juan Soto et Donovan Mitchell. 

Oui, si Patrick Mahomes prenait sa retraite aujourd'hui, il ne serait pas un HOFer, mais quand même, un joueur de haut niveau, dont on se souvient largement de cette génération. Cette distinction est importante, car il y a probablement un bon élan lorsque les joueurs tournent le coin et deviennent de véritables HOFers. L'anneau devient la chose.

Perspectives -10%- fourchette cible (0-20%) recrue, 

Des joueurs en première ou deuxième année, même des ligueurs mineurs qui sont à peine établis ou qui ont un an ou deux dans leur ligue. Le mot H et le mot P entrent en jeu ici – Espoir et potentiel. Cela dit, avec ces joueurs et leurs cartes respectives, il est probable que votre risque se répartisse (10 joueurs à 10% d'allocation par exemple). Probablement une catégorie facile à éviter, mais franchement, beaucoup de ces cartes, lorsque le joueur atteint ou dépasse le "mot P" feront très bien (ou très mal lorsqu'elles ne répondent pas aux attentes) indépendamment de la direction du marché.

Trop de noms à citer, mais beaucoup tomber entre le joueur d'ère et prospect- Luka Doncic, Zion Williamson et Vladimir Guerrero Jr. sont certainement au-delà du stade de prospect, tandis que Wander Franco et Alexis Lafrenière sont mieux adaptés pour cette catégorie.

Les perspectives peuvent être un jeu "Tout ou Rien", alors gardez cette catégorie et la catégorie de joueur de l'ère dans la plage cible.

Certes, vous pouvez créer une feuille de calcul avec les vingt meilleurs joueurs actifs et les 25 meilleurs de tous les temps et choisir parmi la liste. Les listes des 100 meilleurs espoirs des ligues majeures ou des listes similaires d'autres sports peuvent être utiles pour évaluer ces joueurs prometteurs.

Tandis que les plus agressifs peuvent choisir d'avoir plus de recrues/prospects alloués, par exemple : 

20% Prospects/25% Era Players/25% Future HOFers/30% Legends.

En théorie, ce portefeuille devrait produire de meilleurs rendements, en raison d'une prise de risque plus importante. Mais ce n'est pas la théorie du portefeuille 101 sur les marchés des capitaux et des rendements plus importants et plus mauvais en prenant plus de risques ne vont pas de pair.

Ce portefeuille

 40% Légendes/30% Futurs HOFers/ 20% Joueurs Era/ 10 % Prospects

Probablement surperformera à la fois du point de vue du rendement, avec moins de risque, alors que le portefeuille plus spéculatif prend plus de risque, à court et à long terme, sans avantage de rendement significatif. Il s'agit d'une distinction entre l'investissement sur actions et sur carte au niveau du portefeuille.

Pendant que vous y êtes, n'oubliez pas d'être réparti sur plusieurs générations et investissez dans au moins 3 sports.

 

METTRE VOTRE ARGENT AU TRAVAIL

Vous regardez cela et vous vous demandez comment vais-je allouer quoi que ce soit de décent - si je dois mettre 800 $ de mon argent (sur un portefeuille de 2500 $) dans "Legends" les cartes de Jordan, Mantle et Brady. Eh bien, la démocratisation des investissements et la propriété fractionnée aident certainement à cet égard. Allez sur l'APP pour Collectable, Rally Rd ou peut-être avec Vincent et récupérez 300 $ d'actions dans un Fleer Jordan PSA 1986 10 et arrondissez-le avec une participation de 250 $ dans un SGC Carte de 1933 Babe Ruth. Cela couvrira votre allocation d'icônes et de légendes - assez génial, sans le mal de tête d'assurer, de stocker ou de faire expédier ces cartes - même si elles étaient dans le budget.

À partir de là, vous décidez de 5 cartes de prospects (10 est plus idéale), à ​​la fois non notées et notées pour 25 $ à 50 $ par joueur. Franchement, lorsque le marché est battu, les choix spéculatifs devraient ressembler beaucoup aux petites capitalisations. Lorsque le marché tourne, les cartes de ces joueurs qui se portent bien devraient avoir beaucoup de couple. Ces prospects ont généralement moins d'un an ou aucune expérience, et c'est un peu comme choisir des start-up technologiques. Mieux vaut répartir le risque entre de nombreux noms et rester avec les meilleures organisations. Similaire à l'achat dans des entreprises technologiques où la direction a fait ses preuves.

Ensuite, vous passez au futur HOFer et vous tournez vers les cartes de Curry, Lebron, Ovechkin. Encore une fois, étant donné la variété de recrues pour ces joueurs, vous pouvez choisir des copies de qualité inférieure ou des cartes de type non phare ou voir ce qui est disponible de manière fractionnée sur l'extrémité supérieure du spectre. Cela dit, un Prizm Curry 2012 dans BGS 9.5 coûte 250 $ et certainement, bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas d'une carte de recrue, une carte emblématique d'un ensemble emblématique. 

Enfin, vous passez au joueur d'ère. Une classification où un titre ou des jalons de carrière peuvent catapulter le statut du joueur. Ces joueurs ne sont pas un verrou pour le HOF, mais figurent certainement sur une liste des meilleurs de cette génération. À 20 % des avoirs, vous prenez un BGS 9.5 de Juan Soto, un Upper Deck Young Guns Steven Stamkos et prenez quelques cartes de Lamar Jackson. Au fur et à mesure que votre budget augmente, vous pouvez devenir plus exigeant et sélectionner des cartes POP inférieures qui correspondent à cette facture.

Dans cet exemple, voici à quoi ressemble votre portefeuille global. Encore une fois, ce n'est pas un conseil ou une ligne directrice à suivre, simplement un processus à des fins de démonstration uniquement. En d'autres termes, cela ne doit pas être considéré comme un conseil.

SegmentAllocationBreakdownMontant investiNom de joueurCarteAlliageLa possession
(du portefeuille global)(direct/fractionné)
Légendes38 %12 %$300Michael Jordan1986 Flotteur #57PSA 10fractionnaire
10 %$250Babe Ruth1933 Goudey #144CG 8fractionnaire
8%$200Wayne Gretzky1979 O-Pee-Chee #18PSA 9fractionnaire
8%$200Hank AaronTopps 1954 # 126PSA 8.5fractionnaire
Futurs HOFers35 %8%$200Tom Brady2000 prétendants aux séries éliminatoires (2)BGS 9fractionnaire
10 %$250Stephen CurryPanini Prizm 2012BGS 9.5
9%$225Clayton Kershaw2007 Bowman Chrome (2)BGS 9.5
8%$200Alex Ovechkin2005 La Coupe RPABGS 8.5fractionnaire
Joueurs d'époque20 %4%$100Luka DoncicBase optique 2018BGS 9
8%$200Patrick Mahomes2017 Trésors nationaux RPABGS 8.5fractionnaire
4%$100Juan Soto2018 Topps ChromeBGS 9.5
4%$100Steven Stamkos2008 Jeunes canons du pont supérieurPSA 9
Perspectives7%1%$25Zion WilliamsonConcours 2019 SelectCG 9
1%$25Quinn Hughes2019 Jeunes canons du pont supérieurraw
2%$50Vlad Guerrero Jr.Topps 2019 Mise à jour Rainbow Foilraw
3%$75Lamar JacksonBase optique 2018raw
Investissement total$2,500

Assez décent, probablement à un point décent puisque vous avez vraiment commencé avec un plan de match.

Quelques points clés, encore une fois ce n'est pas un conseil mais juste un exemple. Battre certainement à ce point! Les chances que votre portefeuille soit exactement de 2500 $ sont faibles, mais développer quelques lignes directrices est un bon point de départ.

En termes de propriété fractionnée, comparez la capitalisation totale de la carte (nombre de Pop multiplié par le prix actuel du marché) à la capitalisation boursière de cette carte sur le site de propriété partielle. 

Par exemple, la Fleer Michael Jordan 1986 dans PSA 10 a une capitalisation boursière actuelle de 243,500 3 $ sur Collectable et est ouverte à l'achat d'actions (entre 4 h et 233,700 h tout au long de la journée), alors que la carte physique a eu des ventes récentes de 270,600 295,200 $, XNUMX XNUMX $ et XNUMX XNUMX $ respectivement. Certes, les prix sont en ligne et occasionnellement, surtout dans les périodes où le marché est faible et la volatilité est en hausse, on est en mesure de trouver des opportunités d'arbitrage (différences significatives entre le site fractionné et les ventes de cartes uniques)

Certes, vous vous attendriez à quelques différences, mais au minimum, vous évaluez la valeur. De toute évidence, ce modèle de «propriété partielle» aide au stockage, à l'assurance, mais vous permet également de négocier autour d'une position de base clé. L'avantage évident est que cela vous aide à vous exposer au « meilleur des meilleurs » et c'est franchement plutôt cool.

De toute évidence, l'exposition à la liste des prospects est assez faible dans cet exemple. Idéalement, vous voulez avoir plusieurs positions sur une seule carte, en plus d'un faible POP, qui vous permettent d'échanger et de surveiller si ce joueur (et sa carte) entre dans le statut d'élite.

De toute évidence, bon nombre de ces catégories ont plus qu'une nuance de gris. Des joueurs comme Connor McDavid se situent entre les catégories des futurs HOFers et des joueurs d'Era. De même, il peut y avoir une certaine ambiguïté sur la catégorie dans laquelle vous placeriez un joueur, en particulier les joueurs actuels. Quelques autres exemples :

 

Booker– joueur de l'ère, un titre et 3-4 ans de plus en tant que joueur du top XNUMX et il passe à Active HOFer

 

Étalages – appel difficile, peut-être une légende, mais certainement derrière Lebron, Wade de la classe 2003, peut-être que nous passons simplement et prenons un plus grand nom

 

Guerrier – clairement en route vers un joueur Era à ce stade, mais toujours probablement entre le prospect et le joueur Era à ce stade

 

Liliard– probablement chez HOFer, certainement un joueur d'Era (trop de titre et pas de vrai chemin pour y arriver). Encore une fois, s'il est difficile à catégoriser, vous devriez peut-être l'éviter complètement

Même Doncic et Ice Trae, bien qu'ils semblent être des joueurs de l'ERA, pourraient également être un choix potentiel. 

Jetez simplement un coup d'œil à la plupart des listes actuelles des 25 meilleurs ou des meilleures listes de tous les temps sur certains excellents sites et ajoutez votre propre deux ou cinquième sens. N'oubliez pas que de nombreux joueurs ne correspondent à aucune des listes et qu'ils ne devraient pas non plus ajouter un 5% ou une pochette séparée pour PC (collection personnelle) si vous ressentez vraiment le besoin de posséder un groupe de joueurs California Golden Seals. En réservant un montant spécifié au PC, cela peut aider à le garder secret.

Et n'oubliez pas la précieuse leçon que nous avons apprise, toutes les cartes de sport ne sont pas des investissements. Le statut et la catégorisation du joueur (Iconic, Active HOFer et LOW Pop sur la carte elle-même comptent vraiment). Le marché a dit que les cartes emblématiques de nombreux grands sont probablement mieux servies dans le nombre de 200 à 1500 POP (encore plus bas, si vous pouvez les trouver et vous les permettre), tout en considérant la dilution (croisement d'autres sociétés de classement)

Lorsque vous commencez à budgétiser davantage votre portefeuille de cartes, cela peut permettre plus de flexibilité, mais il devrait toujours y avoir toujours une place pour un Goudey ou un Sporting News Ruth haut de gamme avec une allocation de 5 à 10 %. Encore une fois, pas directement, mais la possession d'actions via un modèle de propriété fractionnée offre un stockage, un confort d'assurance et la possibilité d'acheter/vendre autour d'une position de base. N'oubliez pas que certaines de ces cartes de passe-temps essentielles n'apparaissent qu'une fois toutes les quelques années, alors profitez des opportunités lorsqu'elles se présentent et achetez des actions.

Dans l'ensemble, avoir une approche de portefeuille étendra également votre horizon temporel (icônes pour le long terme, perspective, cartes POP plus élevées pour les transactions à court terme), à ​​court et à long terme. La majeure partie de votre attention est portée sur les choix spéculatifs, les statistiques de suivi, la progression de l'équipe et les prix des cartes, tandis que la catégorisation Iconic ou Legend est strictement un investissement à long terme - vous comprenez qu'il peut y avoir des baisses à court terme, mais des rendements stables à long terme.

 

Venons en à quelques considérations 

Répartir votre investissement dans une variété de sports et d'Eras-catalyseurs peut être imprévisible, manquer la récente vague de cru ou le jeu d'athlètes actifs peut entraîner des occasions manquées.

De nombreux collectionneurs sont très affectés à la catégorie des joueurs Era ou Prospect, qui fluctuent au fur et à mesure que le passe-temps digère, qu'ils soient d'élite ou qu'ils reculent en raison d'un manque de jalons ou de titres - ils ne signifient pas à éviter, mais 50% ou plus à cette catégorie est trop - des exemples sont Matthews, même Anthony Davis dans une certaine mesure.    

pourquoi est-ce le cas?

En termes simples, nous regardons ces joueurs presque quotidiennement et lisons à leur sujet sur les réseaux sociaux et nos sites sportifs préférés. Ces joueurs sont toujours en tête.

Avoir la plupart de vos cartes dans la catégorie Era ou Prospect a certainement été un sentiment de type « vélo sans siège » au cours des derniers mois. Décidez quels biais vous avez avec l'investissement par carte, et croyez-moi, nous en avons tous. Les miennes sont ces fichues cartes Bobby Orr et Michael Jordan, et investissent parfois trop dans les joueurs des petits marchés.

À moins que nous ne prenions une participation dans 10 prospects ou plus, nous pouvons probablement construire l'intégralité du portefeuille avec seulement 10 à 15 noms. Moins peut être plus dans Sports Card Investing. Facile à surveiller et plus facile à gérer.

Commencez par un aperçu de votre portefeuille, du parc de balles, quel pourcentage détenez-vous dans chaque catégorie clé (en dehors du PC, ce ne sont pas des investissements - et oui, toute carte au-dessus d'un certain niveau est un investissement)

Ai-je besoin de quelques Legends of baseball ou ai-je besoin de quelques HOFers actifs pour le basketball ?

Faites un effort pour considérer comment cette carte se déplace, est-elle liée au marché plus qu'à la performance du joueur / de l'équipe, si c'est le cas, prenez une jauge de Gretzky, Trout, Jordan, Kobe, Lebron (GET JKL).

Quel est le sentiment du marché en ce moment ?

Où leurs recrues phares devraient-elles trouver du soutien ?

 Pour obtenir une vue objective du sentiment du marché ou du soutien des prix, il existe de nombreux outils sur Card Ladder, Sport Card Investor ou d'autres sites qui disposent d'excellents outils pour mesurer le marché.

Si votre position est plus spéculative, passez plus de temps à regarder des statistiques avancées, à lire des articles critiques sur ce joueur, essayez d'extrapoler à quoi ressemblent ses meilleures années, et n'oubliez pas, en particulier dans le football, le basket-ball et le hockey. le succès de cette organisation

Maintenant que vous avez décidé d'aller de l'avant, déterminez quel pourcentage d'allocation cette participation sera ou devrait être. S'agit-il d'un achat unique, avec une flexibilité minimale pour l'avenir, ou pouvez-vous effectuer deux achats identiques par carte et réduire votre exposition à un moment donné. Plusieurs fois, il y a un compromis ici et toujours penché vers l'achat de la meilleure qualité et de la meilleure recrue pour ce problème particulier.

Enfin, même si vous avez sélectionné un PSA 10 ou une carte haut de gamme, surtout vintage, examinez bien les photos. Toutes les cartes PSA 8 ne sont pas considérées comme égales, et le marché commence vraiment à récompenser le meilleur exemple d'une note spécifique. Demandez de meilleures photos des coins, des bords et du dos et regardez rapidement les ventes passées pour des comparaisons. Si jamais vous allez revendre une carte, après avoir pris une sage décision, il est beaucoup plus facile de vendre une carte de haute qualité d'un grade spécifique.

Collectionner (et investir) des cartes de sport est une tonne de plaisir et un excellent moyen de gagner quelques dollars supplémentaires. Avoir VOTRE plan de match et prendre quelques minutes pour élaborer une stratégie vous permettra de rester concentré et de devenir un meilleur investisseur de cartes de sport.

Cliquez pour commenter

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaîtra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Tendance

Connect with us

Baseball Cards

Sports Card Investors Portfolio Advice and Analysis (Updated 2021)

Published

on

But I can’t afford a Brady Championship Rookie Ticket within a $2500 Sports Card portfolio?

Boy, the sports card investing market is going down, I don’t want any speculative or prospect cards in my portfolio!

Certainly, there aren’t many Brady Championship Rookie Ticket to be had in BGS or PSA anything, let alone finding one in BGS 2.5 – so you may be asking – what gives?  

Sports Card Investors Portfolio Advice and Analysis (Updated 2021)

Sports Card Investors Portfolio Advice

Frankly speaking, the world of investing and Sports Cards are offering new ways of buying assets. Investing has turned the corner, becoming more democratic and investors certainly have more choice in what they own. You can own farmland, green technology, a technology start-up, wine, whiskey, and of course Sports Cards.

You can own cards directly, through fractional ownership, or even keep an equity stake (keep 60% and sell the rest through the fractional model, if you are fortunate to own a 6 or 7 figure card)

And while the market has certainly started to go down, cards of Acuna Jr, Guerrero, Ohtani, and many others veer up, in spite of a weak market.  Picking the right prospect or speculative cards can be rewarding, even in adverse market conditions.

And at some point, the market will find support!

Therefore considering fractional ownership and all of our options may provide for a more complete portfolio.

And who wouldn’t want to own some shares in a 1986 Fleer Michael Jordan in PSA 10!

So you have $2500 to start a Portfolio (or 1/5th or 5 times, whatever),  you have set some target allocations and goals within the following categories. In this example, the first figure is our sample portfolio and the second is the target range for that particular category.

Legends – 40%- target range (30-70%) 

Beyond HOFers, these are the elite of the elite, iconic status both on and off the court or playing field, and long after their playing careers are over

Examples of legends include Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Gordie Howe, Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Dr. J, Bill Russell, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Lou Gehrig, Babe Ruth, Mickey Mantle, Jacke Robinson, Honus Wagner, Roberto Clemente, Derek Jeter, Jim Brown, Joe Montana, and Walter Payton.

Future HOFer – 35%-target range (20-50%) 

Sure firelock to be in the HOF. This list includes James, Rodgers, Brady, Kershaw, Ovechkin, Crosby. If you have to question whether a player is a HOFer (after 10 years in the league), then they need not be in this category or in your portfolio.  Probably need to take this category to another level and considerable intangibles, popularity, and how this will be revered once they retire.

Active Era Players – 15%- target range (10-35%) 

Players who are top 20 status in their respective leagues consistently and ideally in the top 5 or 10, but lack either milestones, championships, or even tenure.  Players who fit into this category are Carey Price, Patrick Mahomes, Damian Lilliard, Juan Soto, and Donovan Mitchell. 

Yes, if Patrick Mahomes retired today he wouldn’t be a HOFer, but still, a top player, widely remembered from this generation. This distinction is important, as there is likely a decent run-up when players turn the corner and become bonafide HOFers. The ring becomes the thing.

Prospects -10%- target range (0-20%) rookie, 

Players in their first or second year,  even minor leaguers who are barely established or have a year or two in their league.  The H word and P word, comes into play here – Hope and Potential. That said, with these players and their respective cards- it is likely to spread out your risk (10 players at 10% allocation for example).  Likely a category easy to avoid, but frankly many of these cards, when the player meets or exceeds the “P word”  will do great (or very badly when they don’t meet expectations) irrelevant of the direction of the market.

Too many names to mention, but many fall between era player and prospect- Luka Doncic, Zion Williamson and Vladimir Guerrero Jr. are certainly beyond the prospect stage, whereas Wander Franco and Alexis Lafreniere are a better fit for this category.

Prospects can be an “All or Nothing” play, so keep this category and the era player category within the target range.

Certainly, you can build out a spreadsheet with the top twenty active players and top 25 for all-time and pick and choose from amongst the list. Top 100 Major League Prospects Lists or similar lists from other sports can be helpful for assessing those up and coming players.

While, those more aggressive may choose to have more rookies/prospects allocated, for example: 

20% Prospects/25% Era Players/25% Future HOFers/30% Legends.

In theory, this portfolio should yield better returns, due to taking on more risk. But this isn’t Portfolio Theory 101 in the capital markets and bigger, badder returns from taking on more risk don’t go hand in hand.

This portfolio

 40% Legends/30% Future HOFers/ 20% Era Players/ 10 % Prospects

Likely will out-perform on both a return perspective, with less risk- whereas the more speculative portfolio is taking on more risk, in both the short and longer-term, with no significant return advantage. This is a distinction between Stock and Card investing at the Portfolio level.

While you are at it, don’t forget to be spread across generations and have investments in at least 3 sports.

 

PUTTING YOUR MONEY TO WORK

You look at this and wonder, how am I going to allocate anything decent – if I need to put $800 of my money (from a $2500 portfolio) into “Legends” the cards of Jordan, Mantle, and Brady.  Well, the democratization of investments and fractional ownership certainly help in this regard. Go onto the APP for Collectable, Rally Rd or perhaps with vincent and grab $300 worth of shares in a 1986 Fleer Jordan PSA 10 and round it up with a $250 holding in an SGC 1933 Babe Ruth card. This will get your iconic and legends allocation covered -pretty awesome, without the headache of insuring, storing or having these cards shipped – even if they were in the budget.

From there you decide on 5 prospects cards (10 is more ideal), both ungraded and graded for $25-$50  per player.  Frankly, when the market is getting beaten up, speculative picks should be a lot like small caps. When the market turns, the cards of these players who are doing great should have a lot of torque. These prospects, typically have less than 1 year or no experience, and is a lot like choosing tech start-up companies.  Better off spreading the risk amongst many names and sticking with the top organizations.  Similar to buying into tech companies where management has a proven track record.

Then you move over to the future HOFer and turn to the cards of Curry, Lebron, Ovechkin.  Again, given the variety of rookies for these players you can choose lower graded copies, or non flagship type cards or see what is available fractionally on the higher end of the spectrum. That said, a 2012 Prizm Curry in BGS 9.5 is $250 and certainly, while not a rookie card, an iconic card from an iconic set. 

Lastly, you move over to the era player. A classification where a title, or hitting career milestones can catapult the player’s status.  These players are not a lock for the HOF, but are certainly on a list of this generation’s best.  At a 20% holdings- you grab a BGS 9.5 of Juan Soto, an Upper Deck Young Guns Steven Stamkos and pick off some cards of Lamar Jackson. As you both up in the budget, you can become more discerning and select lower POP cards that fit this bill.

In this example, this is how your overall portfolio looks. Again, this is not advice or a guideline for you to follow, simply a process for demonstration purposes only. In other words, this shouldn’t be taken as advice.

SegmentAllocationBreakdownAmt InvestedPlayer NameCardGradeOwnership
(of overall portfolio)(direct/fractional)
Legends38%12%$300Michael Jordan1986 Fleer #57PSA 10fractional
10%$250Babe Ruth1933 Goudey #144SGC 8fractional
8%$200Wayne Gretzky1979 O-Pee-Chee #18PSA 9fractional
8%$200Hank Aaron1954 Topps #126PSA 8.5fractional
Future HOFers35%8%$200Tom Brady2000 Playoff Contenders (2)BGS 9fractional
10%$250Stephen Curry2012 Panini PrizmBGS 9.5direct
9%$225Clayton Kershaw2007 Bowman Chrome (2)BGS 9.5direct
8%$200Alex Ovechkin2005 The Cup RPABGS 8.5fractional
Era Players20%4%$100Luka Doncic2018 Optic BaseBGS 9direct
8%$200Patrick Mahomes2017 National Treasures RPABGS 8.5fractional
4%$100Juan Soto2018 Topps ChromeBGS 9.5direct
4%$100Steven Stamkos2008 Upper Deck Young GunsPSA 9direct
Prospects7%1%$25Zion Williamson2019 Select ConcourseSGC 9direct
1%$25Quinn Hughes2019 Upper Deck Young GunsRawdirect
2%$50Vlad Guerrero Jr.2019 Topps Update Rainbow FoilRawdirect
3%$75Lamar Jackson2018 Optic BaseRawdirect
Total Investment$2,500

Pretty decent, likely at a decent point since you really started with a game plan.

A couple of key points, again this isn’t advice but just an example. Certainly beating in this point!  The chances your portfolio is exactly $2500 are low, but developing a few guidelines is a smart starting point.

In terms of fractional ownership, compare the total card capitalization (Pop count multiplied by current market price)  to the market capitalization for that card on the partial ownership site. 

For example, the 1986 Fleer Michael Jordan in PSA 10 has a current market capitalization of $243,500 on Collectable and is open for purchase of shares (between 3-4 PM throughout the day), whereas the physical card has had recent sales of $233,700, $270,600 and $295,200 respectively.  Certainly, the prices are in line and occasionally, especially in times when the market is weak and volatility is up, one is able to find arbitrage opportunities ( significant differences between the fractional site and single card sales)

Certainly, you would expect some differences, but at a minimum, you are assessing the value.  Clearly, this “partial ownership” model helps with storage, insurance, but also allows you to trade around a key core position.  The obvious advantage is it helps you get exposure to the “best of the best” and that is frankly pretty darn cool.

Evidently, the exposure to the Prospects list is quite light in this example. Ideally, you want to have multiple positions in a single card, in addition to low POP, that allow you to trade and monitor if this player (and their card) are entering elite status.

Clearly, many of these categories have more than a shade of grey.  Players like Connor McDavid fall between the categories of Future HOFers and  Era players.  Likewise, there may be some ambiguity on which category would you put a player in, especially current players. A few other examples:

 

Booker– era player, a title and 3-4 more years as a top ten player and he jump to Active HOFer

 

Bosh – tough call, perhaps legend, but certainly back seat to Lebron, Wade from 2003 class, perhaps we simply pass and grab a bigger name

 

Guerrero – clearly on his way to an Era player at this point, but still likely between prospect and Era player at this point

 

Liliard– probably at HOFer, certainly an Era player (too title and no real path to get there). Again, if it is hard to categorize, perhaps you should avoid it altogether

Even Doncic and Ice Trae, while they seem to be ERA players, could be a prospect pick as well. 

Simply take a look at many of the current Top 25 list or all-time best lists on some great sites and add your own two or fifth sense.  Remember, many players don’t fit on any of the lists, nor should they-  add a 5% or separate sleeve for PC (personal collection) if you really feel the need to own a bunch of California Golden Seals players. By setting aside a specified amount to PC, it may help keep it under wraps.

And don’t forget the valuable lesson we have learned, not all sports cards are investments.  The status and categorization of the player (Iconic, Active HOFer and LOW Pop on the card itself really matter). The market has spoken, that the iconic cards of many greats are likely served best in the 200-1500 POP count (even lower, if you can find and afford them), while considering dilution (crossing over from other grading companies)

As you begin to budget more to your card portfolio, it may allow for more flexibility- but there still should likely always be a place for a high end Goudey or Sporting News Ruth at a 5-10% allocation. Again not directly, but owning shares through a fractional ownership model, does offer storage, insurance comfort and the ability to buy/sell around a core position. Remember some of these critical hobby cards only show up once every few years, so take advantage of the opportunities when they present themselves and purchase some shares.

Overall, having a portfolio approach will also spread out your time horizon (icons for the long term, prospect, higher POP cards for shorter term trades), across both short and long term. Most of your attention is on the speculative picks, monitoring stats, team progress and card prices, while the Iconic or Legend categorization is strictly a long term investment- you understand there maybe short term dips, but long term steady returns.

 

Let’s hit on a few considerations 

Spread your investment throughout a variety of sports and Eras- catalysts can be unpredictable, missing out on the recent vintage surge or the play of active athletes may result in missed opportunities.

Many collectors are allocated very to the Era or Prospect player category, which ebb and flow as the hobby digests whether they are elite or drop back due to lack of milestones or titles- they doesn’t mean to avoid, but 50% or more to this category is too much – examples are Matthews, even Anthony Davis to an extent.    

Why is this the case?

Simply put, we watch these players on a near daily basis and read about them in social media and our favorite sports sites. These players are always top of mind.

Having most of your cards in the Era or Prospect Category, has certainly been a “bicycle with no seat” type feeling over the past few months. Decide what biases you have with card investing, and believe me we all have some.  Mine is those darn Bobby Orr and Michael Jordan cards, and sometimes investing too much in players in small markets.

Unless we take a stake in 10 or more prospects, we can likely build the entire portfolio with only 10-15 names. Less can be more in Sports Card Investing.  Easily to monitor and easier to manage.

Start with an overview of your portfolio, ball park, what percentage do you hold in each key category (outside of PC, that are not investments- and yes any card above a certain level is an investment)

Do I need a few Legends of baseball or do I need a few Active HOFers for basketball?

Make an effort to consider how this card moves, is it tied to the market moreso than player/team performance, if so take a gauge of Gretzky, Trout, Jordan, Kobe, Lebron (GET JKL).

What is the market sentiment right now?

Where should their flagship rookies find support?

 To get an objective view on  the market sentiment or price support looks like, there are many tools at  Card Ladder,Sport Card Investor or other sites that have great tools for measuring the market.

If your position is more speculative, spend more time looking at advanced stats, reading critical articles on that player, try to extrapolate what their peak years who look like, and don’t forget, especially in football, basketball, and hockey to look at that organization’s success

Now you have decided to move forward, figure out what percentage allocation this holding will or should be.  Is this a single purchase, with minimal flexibility moving forward, or can you make two of the same card purchases and reduce your exposure at some point. Many times there is a trade-off here and always lean towards buying the highest quality and best rookie for that particular issue.

Finally, even if you have selected a PSA 10 or high-grade card, especially if vintage, examine the photos closely. Not all PSA 8 cards are viewed as equals, and the market is really starting to reward top example from a specific grade.  Ask for better photos of the corners, edges, and the back and quickly look at past sales for comparisons. If you ever go to resell a card, after making a wise decision it is much easier to sell a high-quality card of a specific grade.

Sports Card collecting (and investing) is a ton of fun and a great way to make a few extra dollars.  Having YOUR game plan and taking a few minutes to build out a strategy will keep you focused and a better Sports Card Investor.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Top-Rated Rookie Card Investments (September 2020)

  1. Michael Jordan Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  2. Luka Doncic Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  3. Ronald Acuna Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  4. Kobe Bryant Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  5. Mike Trout Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  6. Zion Williamson Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  7. Patrick Mahomes Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  8. Connor McDavid Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  9. Wander Franco Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  10. LeBron James Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

rookie card ramblings widget

Card of the Month

We feel right now is the perfect time to buy Luka Doncic rookie cards. The Mavericks are out of the playoffs and the spotlight is not shinning on the kid for once. Luka current rookie card prices are most likely the lowest we will ever see them again making it the best time to invest in Luka! We particularly love his Panini Opulence and Panini Prizm rookie cards.

Luka Doncic Rookie Card

The above card is the legendary 2018 Luka Doncic Panini Opulence RPA RC /10… some other blogs have called it the best investment on the planet… we hesitate to go that far BUT would do a lot of things to own that bad boy!

Shop for professionally graded Luka Doncic rookie cards on eBay now!

Trending