與我們聯繫

棒球卡

體育卡投資者投資組合建議和分析(2021 年更新)

發布時間

on

但是我買不起價值 2500 美元的運動卡組合內的布雷迪冠軍新秀門票?

男孩,那個 體育卡投資 市場正在下跌,我不希望我的投資組合中有任何投機或前景卡!

當然,BGS 或 PSA 中沒有多少布雷迪冠軍新秀門票,更不用說在 BGS 2.5 中找到一張了——所以你可能會問——什麼給了?  

體育卡投資者投資組合建議和分析(2021 年更新)

體育卡投資者投資組合建議

坦率地說,投資和運動卡的世界正在提供購買資產的新方式。 投資已經轉機,變得更加民主,投資者當然在他們擁有的東西上有了更多的選擇。 您可以擁有農田、綠色科技、科技初創公司、葡萄酒、威士忌,當然還有運動卡。

您可以通過部分所有權直接擁有卡片,甚至保留股權(保留 60% 並通過部分模型出售其餘部分,如果您有幸擁有一張 6 或 7 位數的卡片)

雖然市場肯定已經開始下跌,但 小阿庫納, 格雷羅儘管市場疲軟,大谷和許多其他公司都在轉向。 即使在不利的市場條件下,選擇合適的潛在客戶或投機牌也是有益的。

在某個時候,市場會找到支撐!

因此,考慮部分所有權和我們所有的選擇可能會提供更完整的投資組合。

誰不想擁有一些股票 1986 年弗萊爾邁克爾喬丹 in 公益廣告10!

所以你有 2500 美元來開始一個投資組合(或 1/5 或 5 次,無論如何),你已經在以下類別中設置了一些目標分配和目標。 在此示例中,第一個數字是我們的示例投資組合,第二個數字是該特定類別的目標範圍。

傳奇 – 40%- 目標範圍 (30-70%) 

霍夫斯,這些都是精英中的精英,無論是在場上還是場下或賽場上的標誌性地位,而且在他們的職業生涯結束很久之後

傳說的例子包括 韋恩·格雷茨基、馬里奧·勒米厄、戈迪·豪、邁克爾·喬丹、魔術師約翰遜、J博士、比爾·拉塞爾、卡里姆·阿卜杜勒·賈巴爾、盧·格里格、貝比·魯斯、米基·曼特爾、傑克·羅賓遜、霍努斯·瓦格納、羅伯托·克萊門特、德里克·傑特、吉姆·布朗、喬蒙大拿和沃爾特佩頓。

未來的HOFer – 35%-目標範圍 (20-50%) 

當然firelock 會在HOF 中。 這份名單包括詹姆斯、羅傑斯、布雷迪、克肖、奧維奇金、克羅斯比。 如果您必須質疑一名球員是否是 HOFer(在聯盟中待了 10 年之後),那麼他們不需要屬於這一類別或您的投資組合。 可能需要將這一品類提升到另一個層次和相當大的無形資產、受歡迎程度,以及一旦他們退休將如何受到尊敬。

活躍時代玩家 – 15%- 目標範圍 (10-35%) 

在各自聯賽中始終處於前 20 名狀態的球員,最好在前 5 名或前 10 名,但缺乏里程碑、冠軍甚至任期。 屬於這一類別的球員有凱里·普萊斯、帕特里克·馬霍姆斯、達米安·利利亞德、胡安·索托和多諾萬·米切爾。 

是的,如果帕特里克·馬霍姆斯今天退役,他就不會成為 HOFer,但仍然是一名頂級球員,在這一代人中廣為人知。 這種區別很重要,因為當玩家轉過彎並成為真正的 HOFers 時,可能會有不錯的助跑。 戒指變成了東西。

前途 -10%- 目標範圍 (0-20%) 菜鳥, 

第一年或第二年的球員,甚至是剛剛建立或在聯盟中有一兩年的小聯盟球員。 H字和P字,在這裡發揮作用——希望和潛力。 也就是說,使用這些玩家和他們各自的牌 - 可能會分散您的風險(例如,10 名玩家分配 10%)。 可能是一個容易避開的類別,但坦率地說,這些卡中的許多,當玩家達到或超過“P 字”時會做​​得很好(或者當他們不符合預期時非常糟糕),與市場的方向無關。

名字太多了,但很多 介於時代玩家之間 和前景 - Luka Doncic、Zion Williamson 和 Vladimir Guerrero Jr. 肯定超出了前景階段,而 Wander Franco 和 Alexis Lafreniere 更適合這一類別。

潛在客戶可以是“全有或全無”玩法,因此請將此類別和時代玩家類別保持在目標範圍內。

當然,您可以構建一個包含前 25 名活躍玩家和歷史前 100 名的電子表格,並從列表中進行挑選。 前 XNUMX 名大聯盟潛在球員名單或來自其他體育項目的類似名單有助於評估那些嶄露頭角的球員。

而那些更激進的人可能會選擇分配更多的新秀/潛在客戶,例如: 

20% 前景/25% 時代玩家/25% 未來 HOFers/30% 傳奇。

從理論上講,由於承擔更多風險,該投資組合應該會產生更好的回報。 但這不是資本市場中的投資組合理論 101,承擔更多風險帶來的更大、更差的回報並不齊頭並進。

這個投資組合

 40% 傳奇/30% 未來 HOFers/ 20% 時代玩家/ 10% 前景

從回報的角度來看,可能會跑贏大盤,風險較小——而更具投機性的投資組合在短期和長期內承擔更多風險,沒有顯著的回報優勢。 這是投資組合級別的股票和卡投資之間的區別。

當你在做的時候,不要忘記跨幾代人並投資至少 3 項運動。

 

把錢投入到工作中

你看著這個想知道,如果我需要把我的 800 美元(來自 2500 美元的投資組合)投入“傳奇”喬丹、曼特爾和布雷迪的卡片,我將如何分配任何體面的東西。 嗯,投資民主化和部分所有權在這方面肯定有幫助。 進入Collectable、Rally Rd 或文森特的APP 並獲取價值300 美元的1986 年Fleer Jordan PSA 10 股票,然後以250 美元的價格將其四捨五入 SGC 1933 年的貝比魯斯卡片。 這將涵蓋您的標誌性和傳奇分配 - 非常棒,無需為這些卡投保、存儲或運送而頭疼 - 即使它們在預算內。

從那裡你決定 5 張潛在客戶卡(10 張更理想),未分級和分級為每位玩家 25-50 美元。 坦率地說,當市場受到打擊時,投機性股票應該很像小盤股。 當市場轉向時,這些表現出色的玩家的牌應該會有很大的扭矩。 這些潛在客戶通常只有不到 1 年的經驗或沒有經驗,很像選擇科技初創公司。 最好將風險分散到許多名稱中並堅持使用頂級組織。 類似於購買管理層有良好記錄的科技公司。

然後你轉向未來的HOFer並轉向Curry,Lebron,Ovechkin的卡片。 同樣,考慮到這些玩家的新秀種類繁多,您可以選擇較低等級的副本,或非旗艦類型的卡片,或者查看在頻譜的高端部分可用的部分。 也就是說,BGS 2012 中的 9.5 年 Prizm Curry 是 250 美元,當然,雖然不是新秀卡,但來自標誌性系列的標誌性卡。 

最後,您移至時代播放器。 一種分類,其中頭銜或達到職業里程碑可以提升玩家的地位。 這些球員不是 HOF 的鎖定對象,但肯定是這一代最佳球員的名單。 在持有 20% 的股份時,您可以獲得 Juan Soto 的 BGS 9.5、Upper Deck Young Guns Steven Stamkos 並挑選一些 Lamar Jackson 的牌。 隨著預算的增加,您可以變得更加挑剔,並選擇符合此要求的較低 POP 卡。

在此示例中,這就是您的整體投資組合的外觀。 同樣,這不是您要遵循的建議或指南,只是一個僅用於演示目的的過程。 換句話說,這不應被視為建議。

分配擊穿投資金額選手姓名所有權
(總投資組合)(直接/分數)
傳奇38% OFF12% OFF$ 300邁克爾·喬丹1986 Fleer#57公益廣告10部分的
10% OFF$ 250貝比魯斯1933 年古迪 #1448部分的
8%$ 200韋恩·格雷茨基1979 年 O-Pee-Chee #18公益廣告9部分的
8%$ 200漢克·亞倫1954 Topps#126公益廣告8.5部分的
未來的 HOFers35% OFF8%$ 200湯姆·布雷迪2000 年季后賽爭奪者 (2)9級部分的
10% OFF$ 250斯蒂芬 - 庫裡2012帕尼尼·普里茲姆(Panini Prizm)9.5級直接
9%$ 225克萊頓克肖2007鮑曼鍍鉻(2)9.5級直接
8%$ 200Alex Ovechkin2005 杯 RPA8.5級部分的
時代玩家20% OFF4%$ 100Luka Doncic2018年光學基地9級直接
8%$ 200Patrick Mahomes2017年國寶RPA8.5級部分的
4%$ 100胡安·索托2018 Topps Chrome瀏覽器9.5級直接
4%$ 100史蒂文·斯坦科斯2008 Upper Deck Young Guns公益廣告9直接
前途7%1%$ 25錫安威廉森2019 精選大廳9直接
1%$ 25奎因休斯2019 Upper Deck Young Guns直接
2%$ 50弗拉德·格雷羅(Vlad Guerrero Jr.)2019 Topps 更新彩虹箔直接
3%$ 75拉馬爾杰克遜2018年光學基地直接
總投資額$ 2,500

相當不錯,很可能是在不錯的時候,因為您確實是從遊戲計劃開始的。

幾個關鍵點,同樣這不是建議,而只是一個例子。 在這一點上肯定是跳動的! 您的投資組合恰好為 2500 美元的可能性很小,但制定一些指導方針是一個明智的起點。

在部分所有權方面,將卡總市值(流行計數乘以當前市場價格)與部分所有權網站上該卡的市值進行比較。 

例如,PSA 1986 中 10 年的 Fleer Michael Jordan 在 Collectable 上的當前市值為 243,500 美元,並且可以購買股票(全天下午 3-4 點之間),而實體卡最近的銷售額為 233,700 美元、270,600 美元和 295,200 美元。 當然,價格是一致的,偶爾,特別是在市場疲軟和波動上升的時候,可以找到套利機會(分數站點和單卡銷售之間的顯著差異)

當然,您會期待一些差異,但至少,您正在評估價值。 顯然,這種“部分所有權”模型有助於存儲、保險,但也允許您圍繞關鍵核心位置進行交易。 明顯的優勢是它可以幫助您接觸“最好的”,坦率地說,這非常酷。

顯然,在此示例中,對潛在客戶列表的曝光非常少。 理想情況下,除了低 POP 之外,您還希望在一張卡片中擁有多個位置,以便您可以交易和監控此玩家(及其卡片)是否進入精英狀態。

顯然,這些類別中的許多都不僅僅是灰色陰影。 像 Connor McDavid 這樣的球員屬於 Future HOFers 和 Era 球員。 同樣,對於將玩家(尤其是當前玩家)歸入哪個類別,可能存在一些歧義。 其他幾個例子:

 

布克– 一個時代球員,一個冠軍頭銜,還有 3-4 年的時間成為前十名球員,他跳到 Active HOFer

 

胡說 – 艱難的決定,也許是傳奇,但肯定是勒布朗的後座,韋德從 2003 年開始,也許我們只是通過並獲得更大的名字

 

格雷羅 – 顯然此時他正在前往 Era 玩家的路上,但此時仍有可能在潛在玩家和 Era 玩家之間

 

百合花– 可能在 HOFer,當然是 Era 玩家(太有名了,沒有真正的途徑)。 同樣,如果很難分類,也許你應該完全避免它

即使 Doncic 和 Ice Trae,雖然他們似乎是 ERA 球員,但也可能是一個潛在的選擇。 

只需查看一些優秀網站上的當前 25 強列表或歷史最佳列表,然後添加您自己的第二或第五感即可。 請記住,許多球員不適合任何列表,如果您真的覺得需要擁有一群加州金海豹球員,他們也不應該為 PC(個人收藏)添加 5% 或單獨的袖子。 通過為 PC 預留指定數量,可能有助於對其保密。

並且不要忘記我們學到的寶貴經驗,並非所有運動卡都是投資。 玩家的狀態和分類(卡本身上的 Iconic、Active HOFer 和 LOW Pop 真的很重要)。 市場已經說過,許多偉大的標誌性卡片可能在 200-1500 POP 計數中得到最好的服務(甚至更低,如果你能找到並負擔得起它們),同時考慮稀釋(從其他評級公司交叉)

當您開始為您的卡片組合增加預算時,它可能會提供更大的靈活性 - 但仍然應該始終有一個高端 Goudey 或 Sporting News Ruth 的位置,分配比例為 5-10%。 同樣不是直接,而是通過部分所有權模式擁有股票,確實提供了存儲、保險舒適性以及圍繞核心頭寸進行買賣的能力。 請記住,其中一些重要的愛好卡片每隔幾年才會出現一次,因此請在他們出現併購買一些股票時利用這些機會。

總體而言,採用投資組合方法還將在短期和長期內擴展您的時間範圍(長期圖標、前景圖標、短期交易的更高 POP 卡)。 您的大部分注意力都集中在投機性選擇、監控數據、團隊進度和卡牌價格上,而標誌性或傳奇分類嚴格來說是一項長期投資——您知道可能會出現短期下跌,但長期穩定回報。

 

讓我們考慮一些注意事項 

將您的投資分散到各種運動和時代 - 催化劑可能是不可預測的,錯過最近的複古潮或活躍的運動員的比賽可能會導致錯失機會。

許多收藏家都非常歸於時代或潛在玩家類別,隨著愛好消化他們是精英還是由於缺乏里程碑或頭銜而退縮——他們並不意味著要避免,但有 50% 或更多的人會傾向於這種類型的收藏家,因為他們是精英或因缺乏里程碑或頭銜而退縮的人。 .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .這個類別太多了——例子是馬修斯,在某種程度上甚至是安東尼戴維斯。    

為什麼會這樣呢?

簡而言之,我們幾乎每天都在觀看這些球員,並在社交媒體和我們最喜歡的體育網站上了解他們。 這些球員總是最重要的。

在過去的幾個月裡,你的大部分卡片都屬於 Era 或 Prospect 類別,這肯定是一種“沒有座位的自行車”類型的感覺。 確定您對卡片投資有哪些偏見,相信我,我們都有一些偏見。 我的是那些該死的鮑比奧爾和邁克爾喬丹牌,有時在小市場中對球員投資過多。

除非我們持有 10 個或更多潛在客戶的股份,否則我們可能只用 10-15 個名字來構建整個投資組合。 體育卡投資少即是多。 易於監控和易於管理。

首先概述您的投資組合,棒球場,您在每個關鍵類別中持有的百分比(PC 之外,不是投資 - 是的,任何高於某個級別的卡都是投資)

我需要一些棒球傳奇還是我需要一些活躍的籃球運動員?

努力考慮這張牌是如何移動的,它與市場的聯繫是否比球員/球隊的表現更重要,如果是的話,請衡量一下格雷茨基、特勞特、喬丹、科比、勒布朗(GET JKL)。

現在的市場情緒如何?

他們的旗艦新秀應該從哪裡獲得支持?

 為了客觀地了解市場情緒或價格支持,Card Ladder、Sport Card Investor 或其他網站上有許多工具可以衡量市場。

如果您的位置更具投機性,請花更多時間查看高級統計數據,閱讀有關該球員的評論文章,嘗試推斷他們的巔峰時期是什麼樣的,並且不要忘記,尤其是在足球,籃球和曲棍球方面該組織的成功

現在您已決定繼續前進,弄清楚該持股將或應該是多少百分比分配。 這是單次購買,向前移動的靈活性很小,還是您可以購買兩張相同的卡並在某個時候減少您的曝光率。 很多時候這裡有一個權衡,總是傾向於為那個特定問題購買最高質量和最好的新秀。

最後,即使您選擇了 PSA 10 或高級卡片,尤其是老式卡片,也請仔細檢查照片。 並非所有 PSA 8 卡都被視為平等,市場確實開始獎勵特定等級的頂級示例。 索取更好的角落、邊緣和背面照片,并快速查看過去的銷售情況以進行比較。 如果您轉售卡片,在做出明智的決定後,出售特定等級的高質量卡片要容易得多。

體育卡收集(和投資)是一種樂趣,也是賺取額外收入的好方法。 制定您的比賽計劃並花幾分鐘時間制定策略將使您保持專注並成為更好的運動卡投資者。

點擊發表評論

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

推薦

Connect with us

Baseball Cards

Sports Card Investors Portfolio Advice and Analysis (Updated 2021)

Published

on

But I can’t afford a Brady Championship Rookie Ticket within a $2500 Sports Card portfolio?

Boy, the sports card investing market is going down, I don’t want any speculative or prospect cards in my portfolio!

Certainly, there aren’t many Brady Championship Rookie Ticket to be had in BGS or PSA anything, let alone finding one in BGS 2.5 – so you may be asking – what gives?  

Sports Card Investors Portfolio Advice and Analysis (Updated 2021)

Sports Card Investors Portfolio Advice

Frankly speaking, the world of investing and Sports Cards are offering new ways of buying assets. Investing has turned the corner, becoming more democratic and investors certainly have more choice in what they own. You can own farmland, green technology, a technology start-up, wine, whiskey, and of course Sports Cards.

You can own cards directly, through fractional ownership, or even keep an equity stake (keep 60% and sell the rest through the fractional model, if you are fortunate to own a 6 or 7 figure card)

And while the market has certainly started to go down, cards of Acuna Jr, Guerrero, Ohtani, and many others veer up, in spite of a weak market.  Picking the right prospect or speculative cards can be rewarding, even in adverse market conditions.

And at some point, the market will find support!

Therefore considering fractional ownership and all of our options may provide for a more complete portfolio.

And who wouldn’t want to own some shares in a 1986 Fleer Michael Jordan in PSA 10!

So you have $2500 to start a Portfolio (or 1/5th or 5 times, whatever),  you have set some target allocations and goals within the following categories. In this example, the first figure is our sample portfolio and the second is the target range for that particular category.

Legends – 40%- target range (30-70%) 

Beyond HOFers, these are the elite of the elite, iconic status both on and off the court or playing field, and long after their playing careers are over

Examples of legends include Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Gordie Howe, Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Dr. J, Bill Russell, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Lou Gehrig, Babe Ruth, Mickey Mantle, Jacke Robinson, Honus Wagner, Roberto Clemente, Derek Jeter, Jim Brown, Joe Montana, and Walter Payton.

Future HOFer – 35%-target range (20-50%) 

Sure firelock to be in the HOF. This list includes James, Rodgers, Brady, Kershaw, Ovechkin, Crosby. If you have to question whether a player is a HOFer (after 10 years in the league), then they need not be in this category or in your portfolio.  Probably need to take this category to another level and considerable intangibles, popularity, and how this will be revered once they retire.

Active Era Players – 15%- target range (10-35%) 

Players who are top 20 status in their respective leagues consistently and ideally in the top 5 or 10, but lack either milestones, championships, or even tenure.  Players who fit into this category are Carey Price, Patrick Mahomes, Damian Lilliard, Juan Soto, and Donovan Mitchell. 

Yes, if Patrick Mahomes retired today he wouldn’t be a HOFer, but still, a top player, widely remembered from this generation. This distinction is important, as there is likely a decent run-up when players turn the corner and become bonafide HOFers. The ring becomes the thing.

Prospects -10%- target range (0-20%) rookie, 

Players in their first or second year,  even minor leaguers who are barely established or have a year or two in their league.  The H word and P word, comes into play here – Hope and Potential. That said, with these players and their respective cards- it is likely to spread out your risk (10 players at 10% allocation for example).  Likely a category easy to avoid, but frankly many of these cards, when the player meets or exceeds the “P word”  will do great (or very badly when they don’t meet expectations) irrelevant of the direction of the market.

Too many names to mention, but many fall between era player and prospect- Luka Doncic, Zion Williamson and Vladimir Guerrero Jr. are certainly beyond the prospect stage, whereas Wander Franco and Alexis Lafreniere are a better fit for this category.

Prospects can be an “All or Nothing” play, so keep this category and the era player category within the target range.

Certainly, you can build out a spreadsheet with the top twenty active players and top 25 for all-time and pick and choose from amongst the list. Top 100 Major League Prospects Lists or similar lists from other sports can be helpful for assessing those up and coming players.

While, those more aggressive may choose to have more rookies/prospects allocated, for example: 

20% Prospects/25% Era Players/25% Future HOFers/30% Legends.

In theory, this portfolio should yield better returns, due to taking on more risk. But this isn’t Portfolio Theory 101 in the capital markets and bigger, badder returns from taking on more risk don’t go hand in hand.

This portfolio

 40% Legends/30% Future HOFers/ 20% Era Players/ 10 % Prospects

Likely will out-perform on both a return perspective, with less risk- whereas the more speculative portfolio is taking on more risk, in both the short and longer-term, with no significant return advantage. This is a distinction between Stock and Card investing at the Portfolio level.

While you are at it, don’t forget to be spread across generations and have investments in at least 3 sports.

 

PUTTING YOUR MONEY TO WORK

You look at this and wonder, how am I going to allocate anything decent – if I need to put $800 of my money (from a $2500 portfolio) into “Legends” the cards of Jordan, Mantle, and Brady.  Well, the democratization of investments and fractional ownership certainly help in this regard. Go onto the APP for Collectable, Rally Rd or perhaps with vincent and grab $300 worth of shares in a 1986 Fleer Jordan PSA 10 and round it up with a $250 holding in an SGC 1933 Babe Ruth card. This will get your iconic and legends allocation covered -pretty awesome, without the headache of insuring, storing or having these cards shipped – even if they were in the budget.

From there you decide on 5 prospects cards (10 is more ideal), both ungraded and graded for $25-$50  per player.  Frankly, when the market is getting beaten up, speculative picks should be a lot like small caps. When the market turns, the cards of these players who are doing great should have a lot of torque. These prospects, typically have less than 1 year or no experience, and is a lot like choosing tech start-up companies.  Better off spreading the risk amongst many names and sticking with the top organizations.  Similar to buying into tech companies where management has a proven track record.

Then you move over to the future HOFer and turn to the cards of Curry, Lebron, Ovechkin.  Again, given the variety of rookies for these players you can choose lower graded copies, or non flagship type cards or see what is available fractionally on the higher end of the spectrum. That said, a 2012 Prizm Curry in BGS 9.5 is $250 and certainly, while not a rookie card, an iconic card from an iconic set. 

Lastly, you move over to the era player. A classification where a title, or hitting career milestones can catapult the player’s status.  These players are not a lock for the HOF, but are certainly on a list of this generation’s best.  At a 20% holdings- you grab a BGS 9.5 of Juan Soto, an Upper Deck Young Guns Steven Stamkos and pick off some cards of Lamar Jackson. As you both up in the budget, you can become more discerning and select lower POP cards that fit this bill.

In this example, this is how your overall portfolio looks. Again, this is not advice or a guideline for you to follow, simply a process for demonstration purposes only. In other words, this shouldn’t be taken as advice.

SegmentAllocationBreakdownAmt InvestedPlayer NameCardGradeOwnership
(of overall portfolio)(direct/fractional)
Legends38%12%$300Michael Jordan1986 Fleer #57PSA 10fractional
10%$250Babe Ruth1933 Goudey #144SGC 8fractional
8%$200Wayne Gretzky1979 O-Pee-Chee #18PSA 9fractional
8%$200Hank Aaron1954 Topps #126PSA 8.5fractional
Future HOFers35%8%$200Tom Brady2000 Playoff Contenders (2)BGS 9fractional
10%$250Stephen Curry2012 Panini PrizmBGS 9.5direct
9%$225Clayton Kershaw2007 Bowman Chrome (2)BGS 9.5direct
8%$200Alex Ovechkin2005 The Cup RPABGS 8.5fractional
Era Players20%4%$100Luka Doncic2018 Optic BaseBGS 9direct
8%$200Patrick Mahomes2017 National Treasures RPABGS 8.5fractional
4%$100Juan Soto2018 Topps ChromeBGS 9.5direct
4%$100Steven Stamkos2008 Upper Deck Young GunsPSA 9direct
Prospects7%1%$25Zion Williamson2019 Select ConcourseSGC 9direct
1%$25Quinn Hughes2019 Upper Deck Young GunsRawdirect
2%$50Vlad Guerrero Jr.2019 Topps Update Rainbow FoilRawdirect
3%$75Lamar Jackson2018 Optic BaseRawdirect
Total Investment$2,500

Pretty decent, likely at a decent point since you really started with a game plan.

A couple of key points, again this isn’t advice but just an example. Certainly beating in this point!  The chances your portfolio is exactly $2500 are low, but developing a few guidelines is a smart starting point.

In terms of fractional ownership, compare the total card capitalization (Pop count multiplied by current market price)  to the market capitalization for that card on the partial ownership site. 

For example, the 1986 Fleer Michael Jordan in PSA 10 has a current market capitalization of $243,500 on Collectable and is open for purchase of shares (between 3-4 PM throughout the day), whereas the physical card has had recent sales of $233,700, $270,600 and $295,200 respectively.  Certainly, the prices are in line and occasionally, especially in times when the market is weak and volatility is up, one is able to find arbitrage opportunities ( significant differences between the fractional site and single card sales)

Certainly, you would expect some differences, but at a minimum, you are assessing the value.  Clearly, this “partial ownership” model helps with storage, insurance, but also allows you to trade around a key core position.  The obvious advantage is it helps you get exposure to the “best of the best” and that is frankly pretty darn cool.

Evidently, the exposure to the Prospects list is quite light in this example. Ideally, you want to have multiple positions in a single card, in addition to low POP, that allow you to trade and monitor if this player (and their card) are entering elite status.

Clearly, many of these categories have more than a shade of grey.  Players like Connor McDavid fall between the categories of Future HOFers and  Era players.  Likewise, there may be some ambiguity on which category would you put a player in, especially current players. A few other examples:

 

Booker– era player, a title and 3-4 more years as a top ten player and he jump to Active HOFer

 

Bosh – tough call, perhaps legend, but certainly back seat to Lebron, Wade from 2003 class, perhaps we simply pass and grab a bigger name

 

Guerrero – clearly on his way to an Era player at this point, but still likely between prospect and Era player at this point

 

Liliard– probably at HOFer, certainly an Era player (too title and no real path to get there). Again, if it is hard to categorize, perhaps you should avoid it altogether

Even Doncic and Ice Trae, while they seem to be ERA players, could be a prospect pick as well. 

Simply take a look at many of the current Top 25 list or all-time best lists on some great sites and add your own two or fifth sense.  Remember, many players don’t fit on any of the lists, nor should they-  add a 5% or separate sleeve for PC (personal collection) if you really feel the need to own a bunch of California Golden Seals players. By setting aside a specified amount to PC, it may help keep it under wraps.

And don’t forget the valuable lesson we have learned, not all sports cards are investments.  The status and categorization of the player (Iconic, Active HOFer and LOW Pop on the card itself really matter). The market has spoken, that the iconic cards of many greats are likely served best in the 200-1500 POP count (even lower, if you can find and afford them), while considering dilution (crossing over from other grading companies)

As you begin to budget more to your card portfolio, it may allow for more flexibility- but there still should likely always be a place for a high end Goudey or Sporting News Ruth at a 5-10% allocation. Again not directly, but owning shares through a fractional ownership model, does offer storage, insurance comfort and the ability to buy/sell around a core position. Remember some of these critical hobby cards only show up once every few years, so take advantage of the opportunities when they present themselves and purchase some shares.

Overall, having a portfolio approach will also spread out your time horizon (icons for the long term, prospect, higher POP cards for shorter term trades), across both short and long term. Most of your attention is on the speculative picks, monitoring stats, team progress and card prices, while the Iconic or Legend categorization is strictly a long term investment- you understand there maybe short term dips, but long term steady returns.

 

Let’s hit on a few considerations 

Spread your investment throughout a variety of sports and Eras- catalysts can be unpredictable, missing out on the recent vintage surge or the play of active athletes may result in missed opportunities.

Many collectors are allocated very to the Era or Prospect player category, which ebb and flow as the hobby digests whether they are elite or drop back due to lack of milestones or titles- they doesn’t mean to avoid, but 50% or more to this category is too much – examples are Matthews, even Anthony Davis to an extent.    

Why is this the case?

Simply put, we watch these players on a near daily basis and read about them in social media and our favorite sports sites. These players are always top of mind.

Having most of your cards in the Era or Prospect Category, has certainly been a “bicycle with no seat” type feeling over the past few months. Decide what biases you have with card investing, and believe me we all have some.  Mine is those darn Bobby Orr and Michael Jordan cards, and sometimes investing too much in players in small markets.

Unless we take a stake in 10 or more prospects, we can likely build the entire portfolio with only 10-15 names. Less can be more in Sports Card Investing.  Easily to monitor and easier to manage.

Start with an overview of your portfolio, ball park, what percentage do you hold in each key category (outside of PC, that are not investments- and yes any card above a certain level is an investment)

Do I need a few Legends of baseball or do I need a few Active HOFers for basketball?

Make an effort to consider how this card moves, is it tied to the market moreso than player/team performance, if so take a gauge of Gretzky, Trout, Jordan, Kobe, Lebron (GET JKL).

What is the market sentiment right now?

Where should their flagship rookies find support?

 To get an objective view on  the market sentiment or price support looks like, there are many tools at  Card Ladder,Sport Card Investor or other sites that have great tools for measuring the market.

If your position is more speculative, spend more time looking at advanced stats, reading critical articles on that player, try to extrapolate what their peak years who look like, and don’t forget, especially in football, basketball, and hockey to look at that organization’s success

Now you have decided to move forward, figure out what percentage allocation this holding will or should be.  Is this a single purchase, with minimal flexibility moving forward, or can you make two of the same card purchases and reduce your exposure at some point. Many times there is a trade-off here and always lean towards buying the highest quality and best rookie for that particular issue.

Finally, even if you have selected a PSA 10 or high-grade card, especially if vintage, examine the photos closely. Not all PSA 8 cards are viewed as equals, and the market is really starting to reward top example from a specific grade.  Ask for better photos of the corners, edges, and the back and quickly look at past sales for comparisons. If you ever go to resell a card, after making a wise decision it is much easier to sell a high-quality card of a specific grade.

Sports Card collecting (and investing) is a ton of fun and a great way to make a few extra dollars.  Having YOUR game plan and taking a few minutes to build out a strategy will keep you focused and a better Sports Card Investor.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Top-Rated Rookie Card Investments (September 2020)

  1. Michael Jordan Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  2. Luka Doncic Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  3. Ronald Acuna Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  4. Kobe Bryant Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  5. Mike Trout Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  6. Zion Williamson Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  7. Patrick Mahomes Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  8. Connor McDavid Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  9. Wander Franco Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

  10. LeBron James Rookie Cards (buy on eBay)

rookie card ramblings widget

Card of the Month

We feel right now is the perfect time to buy Luka Doncic rookie cards. The Mavericks are out of the playoffs and the spotlight is not shinning on the kid for once. Luka current rookie card prices are most likely the lowest we will ever see them again making it the best time to invest in Luka! We particularly love his Panini Opulence and Panini Prizm rookie cards.

Luka Doncic Rookie Card

The above card is the legendary 2018 Luka Doncic Panini Opulence RPA RC /10… some other blogs have called it the best investment on the planet… we hesitate to go that far BUT would do a lot of things to own that bad boy!

Shop for professionally graded Luka Doncic rookie cards on eBay now!

Trending